You are here

GRC "Dielectric Phenomena" 1990

23 Jul 1990 to 27 Jul 1990
Holderness School Plymouth, New Hampshire
F. Karasz, University of Massachusetts
J. Bendler, General Electric Research and Development Center

Monday, July 23

AM Session Chairperson: J. E. Anderson, Ford Motor Company

“Relation Between Structure and Non-exponential Relaxation in Liquids and Glasses”,

C. A. Angell, Arizona State University

“Dielectric Spectroscopy at Gigahertz Frequencies in Liquids and Solids”,

S. Sridhar, Northeastern University

“Dielectric Relaxations of Dilute Polymer Solutions with Application to the Poly (alkene sulfones)”,

M. L. Mansfield, Michigan Molecular Institute

PM Poster Session Chairperson: John T. Bendler, General Electric Research and Development Center

Tuesday, July 24

AM Session Chairperson: William J. MacKnight, University of Massachusetts

“Molecular Dynamics in Low Molar Mass and Polymeric Ferroelectric Liquid Crystals”,

F. Kremer, Max Planck Institute

“Molecular Dynamics and Microscopic Alignment Behavior of Liquid Crystalline Polymers as Studied by Dielectric Relaxation Spectroscopy”,

G. Williams, University College of Swansea

“Study of Miscible and Immiscible Polymer Blends by Dielectric Relaxation”,

J. M. O’Reilly, Eastman Kodak

PM Session Chairperson: Shiro Matsuoka, AT&T Bell Laboratories

“Subglass Dielectric Relaxations in Polymers”,

R. H. Boyd, University of Utah

“Fluid Flow, Polarization and Rheology”,

H. Block, Cranfield Institute of Technology

Wednesday, July 25

AM Session Chairperson: Keith Watson, Xerox Corporation

“Electron Macro Kinetics in Liquids”,

E. E. Kunhardt, Polytechnic University

“Electronic Transport in Polymeric Insulators”,

M. Abkowitz, Xerox Corportion

“High Field Phenomena in Insulating Polymeric Films”,

T. Mizutani, Nagoya University

PM Session Chairperson: Robert L. Fulton, Florida State University

“Dielectric and Mechanical Relaxation in Cross-Linked Polymers”,

P. Hedvig, Research Institute for Plastics, Budapest

“ Dielectric Relaxation and Molecular Dynamics”,

S. Havriliak, Rhom and Haas Company

Thursday, July 26

AM Session Chairperson: Gyorgy Banhegyi, Bio-Pharm Research and Development Ltd.

“Dielectric Studies of Water in Polymers and Biopolymers”,

P. Pissis, National Technical Univeristy, Athens

“Dielectric Studies of Protein-water Interactions and Associated Proton Transport

R. Pethig, Bangor, United Kingdom

“Linear and Nonlinear Dielectric Properties of Biological Materials”,

D. Kell, Aberystwyth, United Kingdom

PM Session Chairperson: J. D. Hoffman, Michigan Molecular Institute

“National Commission on Superconductivity”,

D. McCall, AT&T Bell Laboratories

Friday, July 27

AM Session Chairperson: J. Pochan, Eastman Kodak

“A Physical Basis for the Dielectric Design of Solid/Liquid Structures”,

J. K. Nelson, Rensselaer Institute of Technology

“The Critical Role of Dielectric Materials in Optical Information Processing and Computing Devices”,

A. Tanguay, University of Southern California

“Nonlinear Optical Phenomena in Thin Films”,

G. Stegeman, University of Arizona