You are here

GRC "Dielectric Phenomena" 1984

30 Jul 1984 to 3 Aug 1984
Holderness School Plymouth, New Hampshire
Shiro Matsuoka, AT&T Bell Laboratories
James Anderson, Ford Motor Company

Monday, July 30

AM Session Chairperson: John Hoffman, University of Maryland

“Dielectric Behavior of Liquids by Computer Simulation”,

John G. Powles, University of Kent at Canterbury, England

“Rotational Dynamics”,

W. Steel, Pennsylvania State University

“Induced Phenomena”,

Paul Madden, Royal Signal & Radar Establishment, United Kingdom

PM Session Chairperson: James E. Anderson Ford Motor Company

“Far Infrared Spectroscopy in Liquids, Large Molecules and Polymers”,

Theodor Dorfmuller, University of Bielefeld, West Germany

Poster Session

Tuesday, July 31

Relaxation Processes
AM Session Chairperson: C. Austin Angell, Purdue University

“Application of an Empirical Relaxation Function to Relaxation and Scattering Phenomena, and the Search for its Physical Basis”,

Graham Williams, University College of Wales

“ Dielectric Relaxation in Ionically Conductive Glasses”,

Cornelius Moynihan, Rensselear Polytechnic Institute

“Physical Aging and Secondary Relaxation in Glasses”,

Gyan P. Johari, National Research Council of Canada

Related Phenomena
PM Session Chairperson: Frank E. Karasz, University of Massachusetts

“Dielectric Properties of Liquid Crystals”,

Michael G. Clark,, Royal Signal & Radar Establishment, United Kingdom

“Electro-optics Phenomena”,

G. A. Kenney-Wallace, University of Toronto

Wednesday, August 1

Breakdown Phenomena
AM Session Chairperson: W. James Sarjeant, SUNY Buffalo

“Electrical Breakdown in Liquid Dielectrics”,

Eric O. Forster, Exxon

“High Field Conduction in Dielectric Solids”,

John J. O’Dwyer, SUNY at Oswego NY

“Stochastic Approach to Breakdown”,

John Fothergill, Leicester University, England

Charge Migration Phenomena
PM Session Chairperson: Edward Kelley, National Bureau of Standards

“Electro-optic Field Mapping Measurements and Charge Transport Analysis in Purified Water and Water/Ethylene Glycol Mixture”,

Markus Zahn, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

“Electromagnetic Field Interactions with Cellular Systems”,

Karl Illinger, Tufts University

Thursday, August 2

Minisymposium on Conductive Polymers
AM Session Chairperson: John Pochan, S.C Johnson

“Polyacetylene,(CH)x: The Prototype Conducting Polymer”,

Alan MacDiarmid, University of Pennsylvania

“Conducting Polymers Derived From Pyrroles”,

Bryan Street, IBM

“Review of Conduction Mechanisms in Highly Conductive Polymers”,

Arthur Epstein, Xerox Coporation

Molecular Dynamics
PM Session Chairperson: William J. Macknight, University of Massachusetts

“’… and the two shall become one’, Gen. 2:24: A story of cooperative transitions in polymers”,

Thomas A. Weber, AT&T Bell Laboratories

Friday, August 3

Related Techniques
AM Session Chairperson: David W. McCall, AT&T Bell Laboratories

“Identification of Local Molecular Motions in Polymer: Solid State Deuterium NMR Studies”,

Lynn W. Jelinski, AT&T Bell Laboratories

“Viscoelastic and Ultrasonic Properties of Liquids and Polymer Melts”,

John Lamb, University of Glasgow

“Piezoelectricity and Ferroelectricity in Polymers”,

Takeo Furukawa, Inst. Phys. Chem. Research, Saitama, Japan

  1. S. Matsuoka
  2. W. Anderson
  3. H. von Seggern
  4. G. Williams
  5. E. Tolle
  6. C. Alba
  7. A. Chaudhry
  8. M. Baron
  9. W. Sarjeant
  10. I. Hodge
  11. L. Rosenthal
  12. R. Hughes
  13. T. Bose
  14. H. Starkweather
  15. D. Lowits
  16. P. Alexandrovich
  17. G. Fitzpatrick
  18. L. Wempe
  19. T. Wang
  20. T. Podlesak
  21. R. Fulton
  22. K. Illinger
  23. J. May
  24. G. Ostapchenko
  25. E. Johnson
  26. L. Dissado
  27. J. Fothergill
  28. R. Hill
  29. M. Broadhurst
  30. R. Gupta
  31. J. O'Dwyer
  32. J. Lamb
  33. H. Troll
  34. J. Cook
  35. D. Klug
  36. D. Kranbuehl
  37. J. Weiss
  38. J. Skinner
  39. M. Shlesinger
  40. P. Winsor
  41. S. Weiss
  42. D. Damon
  43. R. Mopsik
  44. T. Furukawa
  45. T. Dorfmuller
  46. U. Buontempo
  47. S. Gough
  48. J. Evans
  49. Y. Jeong
  50. R. Rendell
  51. J. Berberian
  52. K. Wahlatrand
  53. M. Clark
  54. G. Johari
  55. J. Bendler
  56. I. Galperin
  57. R. Barker
  58. F. Karasz
  59. G. Kenney-Wallace
  60. P. Madden
  61. L. Jelinski
  62. J. Powles
  63. W. MacKnight
  64. R. Cole
  65. J. Hoffman
  66. D. McCall
  67. E. Forster
  68. W. Steela
  69. P. Maruska
  70. T. Weber
  71. C. Angell